The EU referendum … a one-off comment before normal service is resumed

It doesn’t take a genius to detect that I avoid issues in this blog that are not directly related to the maintenance of the union between Scotland and the rest of the UK. With ten days to go to the EU referendum this will be the one and only comment I make on it.

My decision to remain silent is driven largely by the subject matter. The EU referendum is not directly linked to separation/independence for Scotland so by and large it’s off the No Thanks! radar. But like ‘indyref’ it cuts across society in a similar way, and I guess all referenda have that divisive impact. It’s Yes/No or In/Out, not ‘On balance, but only on balance, I think party X is better than party Y at the moment so I’ll vote for them this time knowing I’ll have another vote in five years’ time.’

Of course, it cuts across society in a different way, so that on each side of the question there are people united (even if they don’t see it that way) who were divided on the earlier question. To put it more personally, there are people who I agree with completely on the union who have radically different views on the future of the UK and the EU.

For many Scots there is also a question of being ‘all voted out.’ While the majority of the UK (well, England) has only had one major ballot in the last six years, the Westminster election, we’ve already had three in less than two years – not only Westminster but our own Holyrood election and of course the big one, the independence referendum.

The ‘big one’ not only held a mirror to what we were like as a nation, it taught us all we needed to know about referenda. I alluded to this in February when I wrote An idiot’s guide to the EU referendum – some advice from Scotland warning Scotland’s fellow UK citizens what to expect in the run-up to referendum day.

Reviewing my guide now I see nothing to disagree with, including my guess that ‘irony will abound as our first minister puts exactly the same arguments for staying in the EU that she opposed for Scotland remaining in the UK.’ If I’d added a prediction that the Remain campaign would be dubbed ‘Project Fear’ I’d have got a full house (… which I arguably did a month later when I noticed an FT journalist discussing the term).

If I’m one of those inclined to be all ‘voted out’ I’m also one of those who see the EU question as less existential than the maintenance of the union. I could live in a UK that’s in or out of the EU. I would have found it difficult to live in a Scotland that was not part of the UK.

To cut to the chase, I’m going to vote to stay in the EU. As I said in the other referendum (see Why I’m going to vote No) ‘my reasons are both positive and negative, rational and emotional.’ I don’t intend to set them out here, perhaps that’s another consequence of being ‘all voted out.’ In any event, there’d be even less chance of them affecting anyone else’s decision than my previous list of referendum pros and cons.

I saw a comment the other day that Jeremy Corbyn, with whom I suspect I have little else in common, had said he was ‘70% in favour of staying in the EU.’ He was condemned for his lack of enthusiasm and commitment, both for EU membership and the Remain campaign. But on this one question, it seems to me not an unreasonable position. Of course the EU has big problems. But we’d have different big problems outside the EU and on balance I’d rather have the challenges that go with being in than being out.

So now you know, even if you didn’t want to.

As you can imagine, my position on this issue has nothing to do with the SNP’s support, such as it is, for ‘Remain.’ They seem to have got themselves in a bit of a fankle with this as with many other things. Nicola says a UK Leave vote will not lead to indyref2 while the ghost hovering in the wings, Alex, says it will. Meantime polls seem to suggest that a substantial minority of their supporters do want to leave the EU. I shall watch the party’s remaining contortions on the subject with some interest and not a little amusement.

Normal service will be resumed shortly.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The EU referendum … a one-off comment before normal service is resumed

  1. Very good, Roger. Reflects my own views pretty accurately also.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Sam Duncan says:

    Well, okay. I’m disappointed, but let’s not fall out over it. 🙂 I can understand a consistent position, voting for the status-quo. I don’t see my support for the UK and opposition to the EU as inconsistent either: I voted against Scottish nationalism, and I’ll vote against the emergent European nationalism* of the EU. Although I’ve been against it for over 20 years (having been enthusiastically pro-“Europe” in my youth), I can understand the complexity of people’s views on it too. Even I am maybe only 99% against.

    But, since it’s not the theme of your blog, and I’m not a dog-with-a-bone cybernat, I hope we can agree to disagree.

    What I can’t understand is the SNP’s position: small devolutionary union bad; big centralizing union good.

    *Note to those who don’t know what nationalism is: it’s about power. Support for a devolutionary UK isn’t “British nationalism”, because it doesn’t put the nation at the centre of public life. Both Holyrood and Brussels want to accumulate power; Westminster has been content to concede it. (My opposition to the Parliament itself rests on it being the wrong medium for the devolution of power, in that it fuels Scottish nationalism, not the principle of decentralization, which I’m all for.)

    Liked by 2 people

    • Roger White says:

      Sam – a belated thanks for the spirit in which you wrote your comment. I shall not write about the subject again, unless it reveals even more inconsistencies in the SNP’s position than hitherto!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I voted No and Remain (past tense because I’ve sent in my postal vote). The two campaigns sound very similar to me. The proponents of change promise a land of milk and honey if we vote for change, whilst insisting that our subsequent relations with all other countries and international bodies, including the one that we have just voted to leave, will be conducted entirely on our terms. Any attempt by the advocates of the status quo to point out the flaws in these arguments is answered by shouts of ‘Project Fear!’

    There seems to be an assumption by some supporters of Scottish independence that people who voted No and Remain will feel more strongly about the latter, so may well vote Yes in a second independence referendum e.g. Andrew Tickell in his column in The Times yesterday. I, like Roger, feel much stronger about maintaining the Union than about the UK staying in the EU. I know nobody who has said that they will switch from No to Yes if we leave the EU.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

